The Board and Leadership Team

Meet our board members and leadership team

Lord Tim Clement-Jones CBE | Board Chair

Lord Tim is a Liberal Democrat peer and the party’s spokesman for the digital economy in the House of Lords. A qualified lawyer, he is a consultant for global law firm DLA Piper and co-chairman of the All-Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) on Artificial Intelligence. He has chaired the Ombudsman Services board since 2016, commencing his second term in 2019.

Line 1

Dr Margaret Amos | Non-Executive Director

Margaret holds a number of non-executive directorships. She is the chair of audit for Trinity House and chair of Trinitas – both subsidiaries of the Department for Transport (DfT). Her executive career was with Rolls Royce where she held a number of senior roles in finance, strategy development and programme management.

Line 1

Michele Ibbs | Non-Executive Director

Michele has extensive board experience across private and public organisations in a range of sectors. Her executive experience includes board positions at Liverpool John Moores University as pro-vice chancellor for marketing, commercial and international; Princes Limited as marketing director; and at Waterford Wedgwood plc as marketing director, UK. She is a non-executive director for both Marsden Building Society and Blackpool Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust.

Line 1

Brian Landers OBE | Non-Executive Director

Brian has had a successful career in the private and public sectors in the UK and overseas. His private sector experience spans insurance, retail, manufacturing, management consultancy and publishing.

He was the first ever finance director of HM Prison Service and also helped set up the Financial Ombudsman Service (FOS), acting as deputy chairman for its first six years.

Line 1

Sir Leigh Lewis | Non-Executive Director

Sir Leigh chairs alcohol education charity Drinkaware and is vice chair of the Holocaust Memorial Day Trust. Previously he held a number of prominent roles within Government, culminating as permanent secretary of the Department for Work and Pensions (DWP) from 2005-10.

Line 1

Lisa Tennant | Non-Executive Director

Lisa is an experienced non-executive director with a wealth of leadership experience across the public, private and voluntary sectors.

Lisa has extensive experience at chief executive level and now runs her own strategy consultancy, specialising in growth and digital transformation for SMEs. Lisa has a professional award from Edinburgh’s Queen Margaret University on Ombudsman and Complaint Handling Practice.

Line 1

Matthew Vickers | Chief Executive & Chief Ombudsman

Matthew joined Ombudsman Services in 2015 and became chief executive and chief ombudsman in late 2018. His strategic leadership role involves maintaining positive relationships with key external stakeholders. Prior to joining Ombudsman Services, Matthew was chief executive at the Scottish Legal Complaints Commission. A fluent Spanish speaker, he spent four years with the Foreign and Commonwealth Office as British Consul.

Green Line 1

The Leadership Team

Simon Palmer | Managing Director

Simon joined Ombudsman Services in 2018 as interim chief financial officer (CFO) and was appointed managing director in 2019. Simon, a chartered management accountant with experience in sectors including FMCG, retail, wholesale and IT services, focuses on commercial, operational and strategic matters in his role. He is an accomplished CEO, COO and CFO with a strong commercial track record.

Line 1
  • Joanna Jepson | Director of People and Change

  • Amanda Manning | Director of Strategy

  • Tim Moran | Director of Finance

  • Ed Dodman | Director of Regulatory Affairs

line divider

How the board is appointed

  1. The chair, non-executive directors and chief executive are appointed to the board under a process overseen by the nominations committee.

  2. The nominations committee is a sub-committee of the board made up of the chair of the board, two other non-executive directors and one independent member who has previous experience both in the requirements for board level and senior appointments and of board competencies.

  3. The nominations committee form the selection panels for all board level appointments, including the chief executive.

  4. The chief executive is co-opted onto the nominations committee for any discussions concerning the appointment of the chair of the board and other non-executive directors and is an ex-officio member of any selection panels.

  5. The nominations committee presents their recommendations to the board to approve the final selection.

  6. In doing the above, the nominations committee and board ensure that appropriate safeguards are in place to address any real or perceived conflicts of interest.